Horní Hrad (Upper Castle), a chateau rebuilt from a medieval castle known as Hauenštejn (German: Hauenstein), was probably founded as a royal castle in the late 13th century. It was built on a rocky hill that was strategically positioned over the trail leading through the nearby valley of the Ohře River. Its first known owner documented in historical records in 1320 was the Burgrave of Loket, Mikuláš Winter. Its subsequent owners included the Satanéř family from Drahovice in 1470. In 1528, the castle was acquired by the Šlik family who had resided at the castle with only a short interruption until 1663, before selling the estate to Julius Heinrich, Duke of Saxe-Lauenburg. The castle originally had two sections. The smaller, higher-elevated part of the castle is still dominated by a free-standing round bergfrit tower, while the lower part comprised of a rectangular palace with a smaller southern wing, the cellarage of which has been preserved to our time. In 1839, the castle ended in the hands of the Buquoy family who ventured into two major reconstructions of the castle (the first from 1840 to 1850 and the second from 1878 to 1882), entirely rebuilding the small-size medieval castle into a spacious chateau in English Gothic Revival style, which was quite fashionable at that time. A new wing was constructed on the free space between the gate and the southeast palace (i.e. clerical house) with a small courtyard of honour and a knight's hall with large cusped windows with Gothic lobes and a Gothic joisted wooden ceiling. A stately Neo-Gothic chapel was built according to the design of Bernhard Grueber on a nearby hill and it was consecrated in 1851.
In 1992, Hauenštejn Castle and Chateau was acquired by the nearby municipality of Krásný Les. At that time, however, the West Bohemian peer of the famous Neo-Gothic chateau in South Bohemian Hluboká, as the chateau was commonly denoted, was in a desolate condition. In 2000, the dilapidated castle with collapsed roofs and disturbed walls was taken over by its new owner, Mr. Pavel Palacký, who immediately launched renovation works aimed at saving the chateau.
At present, Hauenštejn is once again open to the public and visitors have a unique opportunity to see how the chateau is changing during the extensive reconstruction in the spirit of "How a castle is built". Visitors also have a chance to explore the whole castle complex, to climb the bergfrit tower offering a view of the Ore Mountains and the Doupov Mountains, to see the castle dining hall in the Gothic cellars, the castle chapel, a gallery, and a display of wooden sculptures, the knight's hall with the original carved ceiling; or to enjoy a walk in the vast forest park. In addition, numerous cultural events are held at the castle every year.
Interesting tidbit: Legend of the Killed Youth