Skip Navigation Links
Skip navigation links
Česky
Deutsch
English
Español
Français
Italiano
Pусский
Skip navigation links
Karlovy Vary
Mariánské Lázně
Jáchymov
Františkovy Lázně
Lázně Kynžvart
The History of the Town 

Lázně Kynžvart is situated on the south western slope of the Slavkov Forest. It was founded in the 13th century near a border castle. In 1630 it became the property of the Metternich family. The early Baroque seat was remodelled into a Classicist manor house in 1833. Nowadays the manor house is accessible to the public after many years of reconstruction work and its unique collection is once again available for viewing.

The first written mention of the springs dates from 1454 but the acidulous waters started to be collected from 1822 onwards on the initiative of the Austrian Chancellor Metternich. The information available shows that at the time 22 acidulous springs were found and analysed around Lázně Kynžvart, out of which nine were on the slope above the town (the present spa complex). Apart from the disorders of air passages, chronic intestinal disorders, rheumatism, gout, eczema, disorders of the urinary tract, female and neurological disorders were treated here. The treatment was originally for adult patients only.

In 1856 the first hotels were opened in the spa quarter and Lázně Kynžvart opened its doors to the world. In 1917 Metternich opened a school for starving children and nuns from Notre Dame were invited to provide an education for the children.

1950 was an important milestone in the history of the town as instead of adult patients, the spa started providing treatment to children. In that year the beneficial effects of the local climate for the treatment of air passage disorders became very apparent during epidemics of whooping cough.

The Children's Hospital is still in operation in Lázně Kynžvart and in 1992 it entered a new era operating as a national subsidized organisation under the auspices of the Ministry of Health of the Czech Republic.